Help needed - ERG mode

Hi there,

I am seeking some help with some readings as I’m fairly new to Trainer Day (having converted from Zwift).

For background, I’m using a Wahoo Kickr Snap V2 (which I’ve calibrated), using Trainer Day on mobile and syncing a workout through Training Peaks.

My understanding of ERG mode is that the resistance on the trainer should adjust to match my cadence. A key focus for me is raising my cadence (as a novice, I’d been sitting really low - at around 60/65).

The problem I’ve run into is that when I lift my cadence (my goal was 90-95), the ERG mode doesn’t seem to kick in and my wattage goes through the roof, which meant that, in my ‘Zone 2’ warmup (supposed to be at 230 watts) I was riding at roughly 30watts higher for the 20mins, even at a lower-than-goal cadence of ~80.

That was a fair bit of extra work to take on before my intervals! Which brings me to my question - what am I doing wrong? I’ve attached a couple of screenshots from Strava, Training Peaks and Trainer Day which hopefully help explain the story. You can see that when it got to the interval I had to drop my cadence way down so I wasn’t sending my wattage through the roof.

Ideally I’d love to do all of the ride, 180w warmup, 230w extended warmup, then intervals at 287w at a high cadence around 90RPM, but at the moment that seems impossible?

Quick note: the drops at minutes 18 & 24 were deliberate. I thought by restarting perhaps the power would match my cadence but unfortunately it didn’t work.

Hi there, yes something is wrong. If you increase cadence in ERG mode the watts should stay the same unless you are in too big of gear, it’s slighly possible the trainer can’t lower the watts enough. Make sure nothing else is connected to your Trainer, meaning no Ant+ devices connected to it.

Hey Alex,

I actually had it in one of the lower gears on the small chain ring to avoid this issue.