100 mile MTB plans?

I am trying to find a 100 mile MTB training plan. I haven’t found one in the database. If there is such a program and I am just not searching correctly, please let me know. Interested in something to prep for LT100 in August.
Thanks

Coach Jack is the solution :wink:

1 Like

I’ve tried that - I may be missing something but it never asks about the distance type of event. If it is a 100 mile ride where is that accounted for? Just “long day” as the peak type? I would think the distance is important in the build period as well but I don’t see that. I am new to biking - long distance running in the past - but would expect some of the distance accounted for in the build period.

Distance is less relevant and it does ask expected duration. Generally you want to slowly build up a weekly long ride until you get to around 50-70% of the event duration as similar to riding terrain as possible. Right now the consistency and not doing too much too soon is most important. Later in the last 4-8 weeks prior to the even you need to get more specific.

AGree w/ Alex, your best bet is to slowly increase the duration up to the expected time (or say 80% of the duration you expect to finish your event) . since you have long distance running experience, the training stress / style would be approximately the same.

You can also choose to train based on the expected TSS(or Load) you will experience on the event. Then build up to it.

YOu can use intervals.icu to plan your training and use the the FITNESS chart to monitor / plan your progress.

1 Like