Book Recommendations?

Hello Alex and Other Members,

I have come across Joe Friel’s books and was going to read “Ride Inside” and “Cyclist’s Training Bible”. Are there any others that I should rather start with? I am a beginner in the biking/cycling arena and am just riding in the zone 1 and 2 (based on heartrate).

Long term goal would be to participate in events such as RAGBRAI (Iowa biking event, 7 day riding across Iowa)

Thanks,
Sai

1 Like

Hi Sai, What a great goal. I would love to have a goal like that too… maybe when my kids get older. I like Joe’s books and have a lot of respect for him, they have a lot of details which gets a bit over whelming but I know some top coaches that also have a lot of respect for Joe. I know a few others that don’t. People have been thinking there is new fancy ways to get faster and really there is not, sure top speeds of pro-riders slowly evolve but in the last years everyone said “TrainerRoad” is the way to get faster and now eveyone is saying the classic TrainerRoad plans only work for a minority group of riders… but definitly year round consistency makes a big difference and indoor training helps with that for most of us.

I think this book below is both a fun read (more entertaining than Joe’s books) as well as gets you more into the depths of performance.

https://www.amazon.com/Faster-Michael-Hutchinson-audiobook/dp/B01FGEEII4/ref=sr_1_5?dchild=1&keywords=faster+cycling&qid=1622145287&sr=8-5

I have not read “Ride Inside” I just bought it. Thanks for the idea…