My experience with Trainer Day so far

I would like to take the audacity to share my experience with TD, especially with Coach Jack so far. But first I am going to put in context for those who will take the time to read this so that it can be better understood.

I am 42 years old, with a wife and a daughter, I work full time as an engineer and one week a month on night shift, so I am an average person with daily responsibilities and inconveniences like any other.

I have been training consciously for about 6 years and like any other I started gradually, a lot of reading and information about it. In the search for a correct way to train, I tried many training platforms (the best known and not worth mentioning), in them I did not feel fully comfortable since I saw that what I had read and what sports science said it didn’t match what I was running in training or just didn’t suit that form of training.

So I gave Coach Jack a try because his description and the topics covered in the forum were more in line with what I had learned. From November 2021 I started the full plan for a two-day MTB competition in mid-2022.

The PCM graphics looked good:

It’s 3 months of Base so far, training with a lower intensity than what I was used to in recent years, and I’m not going to deny it, it feels strange because we have etched in our minds that the harder we improve, the famous "No pain, no Gain”, this is not entirely true and at a certain point it makes us worse physically and psychologically.

However, I followed the plan which is really comfortable to do, to my surprise I found that I was barely in the base phase and I had already improved almost all my power curve compared to the previous year. Here are the numbers for those who, like me, like metrics (I weigh 54 Kg, I’m 1.65 cm tall):

4.11 W/kg FTP en Base Phase, so there are a lot of possibilities to improve this number.