Zone 2: Differences in Calculation Methods & Potential Benefits

I have been following the z2 discussions. It is interesting to see the variation in z2 ranges being discussed in various places. I see as high as 80% of max hr being noted as still zone 2. Can you help clarify what the range should be and why so much variation from various sources

Thanks

Excellent question. I have been studying this for the last 10 years or so. There for sure bigger experts than me, just I know a bit about this. I think the main source of confusion comes from different people being different. So theoretically if you are training and your HR/avg power is increasing then you are achieving the primary goal and the rest does not matter. But there are many values that can be achieved from “zone 2.” First let’s be clear “Zone 2” is not Zone 2, just a nice name for it.

Benefits or potential desired benefits of "Zone 2"

1. Aerobic improvement
    a) Improves mitochondria
  2. Become a much better fat burner
  3. Minimum stress on the body (allows more training)
  4. Improved health (longer discussion)
  5. A solid part of periodization that improves seasonal gains, giving a rest period
  6. A solid base allowing more intensity with less risk and downsides
  7. Improves work capacity (the amount of effort you can do in a week)

So when talking about this “Zone 2” you have to understand which of these benefits you are shooting for. Most people are thinking primarily about #1. In this case it’s possible you could do sweet spot or threshold workouts and see benefits, even vo2max might show improvement in HR/power…